

To: Members of the Communities

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 13 January 2022

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE** to be held at **10.00 am** on **THURSDAY**, **20 JANUARY 2022** by **VIDEO CONFERENCE**.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 7 - 16)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 9 December 2021 (copy enclosed).

10.05 - 10.10 a.m.

5 HIGHWAYS MAINTENANCE POLICIES FOR UNCLASSIFIED ROADS (Pages 17 - 22)

To consider a report by the Highways Asset and Risk Manager (copy attached) which presents to the committee the Council's policy for maintaining unclassified roads along with the criteria and formula that will be applied for allocating and spending the additional funding allocated towards highways in the county.

10.10 - 11.00 a.m.

SAFEGUARDING WELSH PLACE NAMES IN DENBIGHSHIRE (Pages 23 - 82)

To consider a report by the Council's Team Leader for Places, Legal, HR & Democratic Services (Copy attached) which presents the Committee with the legal position with regards to safeguarding Welsh language place and street names within Denbighshire.

11.00 - 11.50 a.m.

7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 83 - 104)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

11.50 – 12.10 p.m.

8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups.

12.10 - 12.15 p.m.

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Huw Williams (Chair) Councillor Graham Timms (Vice-Chair)

Brian Blakeley
Gwyneth Ellis
Anton Sampson
Alan Hughes
Hugh Irving
Tina Jones

Merfyn Parry
Anton Sampson
Peter Scott
Cheryl Williams

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils